A message from your Occupational Health & Safety union representatives

Dear colleagues and fellow members,

As the situation continues to evolve in the coming weeks, this is a reminder that the VPL Joint Occupational Health &Safety (OH&S) Committee continues to operate. Our mandate and our membership has not changed at this time; whether you are working from home, working on site at VPL, or redeployed to Community Services or the Emergency Operation Centre (EOC), you will still be able to contact your OH&S Committee.

In these rapidly changing times, it is possible upon redeployment to a new worksite that you may find the reporting structure initially unclear. The right to a safe working environment is mandated to all workers under WorkSafe BC, including you as a library worker no matter where you have been redeployed. Please be assured the OH&S Committee is continuing to meet remotely and will be answering emails, either to the committee as a whole or to individual members.

Currently, we do not know what roles you may be asked to fill or what duties you may be expected to perform and we are relying upon our membership to keep us informed. Some examples might be if you are asked to work without required training such as an OHS site orientation or personal protective equipment (PPE). All workers have the right to refuse unsafe work, even if it means we fear the risk of losing employment security.

In the interim, we will increase our teleconference meetings to once a week and are responding to your communications cohesively. Please be safe, keep in touch and we look forward to connecting with you.

Our email: ohs@cupe391.ca
Each member can be reached at their personal CUPE emails for example: inder.pannu@cupe391.ca. All emails will reach the CUPE committee members as a whole (unless you specifically request confidentiality). Please keep in mind that using the email above will only contact the CUPE OH&S members, not any management representatives.

Union Representatives:
• Inder Pannu – (Co-Chair) & South West Quadrant Rep – REN
• Aili Meutzner – PLG
• Wendy Fletcher – TSV
• Raili Haapalainen – TSV (Central OHS Rep)
• Alina Kanios – Central Circulation
• Catherine Chan – South East Quadrant Rep – TSV
• Peter DeGroot – North West Quadrant Rep – KIT
• Holly Thorbes – North East Quadrant Rep – MPL
• Kari Scott-Whyte (Union President Defacto Member)

• Ginny (Virginia) Landry – TSN
• Audrey Wang – CAR
• Stanley Wong – Facilities and Purchasing


For more information, please visit your CUPE 391 Occupational Health and Safety Committee Page.