Current Executive


President: Aliza Nevarie (

1st Vice President: Jane Curry (

2nd Vice President: Kari Scott-Whyte (

Sec-Treasurer: Mike Depaoli (

Rec-Secretary: Renee Milaney (

Members at Large:
Johnathan Dyer (
Tanya Ferry (
Gloria Hershorn (
Grace Ju (

Maureen Bubis (
Falina Keegan (
Debbie Mundy (

Gibsons Member: Tammie York (

Sechelt Member: Sophie Gawn (

Meeting Dates

The executive meets at the Union office on the second Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted.

June 13, 2017
July 11, 2017
August 8, 2017
September 12, 2017
October 10, 2017
November 14, 2017
December 12, 2017
January 9, 2018
February 13, 2018
March 13, 2018
April 10, 2018
May 8, 2018


From the Constitution:

a) The President or designate shall preside at all meetings of this Union and perform all duties usually pertaining to this office.

b) A Vice-President, appointed by the Executive, shall perform the duties of the President in the absence of that officer, and, in the case of resignation or death of the President, shall perform the duties of the President until such vacancy is filled.  Vice-Presidents shall also preside when called upon by the President and at times when the President may be temporarily unable to discharge the duties of that office.  At the beginning of each Union year, the Executive will appoint one Vice-President to the Bargaining Committee.

c) The Recording Secretary shall keep a correct, full and impartial record of the proceedings of each meeting of this Union and all meetings of the Executive.

d) The Secretary-Treasurer shall:

i. Be responsible for keeping all financial accounts of this Union and shall be responsible for maintaining correct and proper accounts of all its members.  The Secretary-Treasurer shall be responsible for maintaining, organizing, safeguarding and keeping on file all supporting documents, authorizations, invoices and/or vouchers for every disbursement made, as well as records and supporting documents for all income received by this Union.

ii. Regularly make a full financial report to meetings of the Executive, as well as a written financial report to each regular general meeting of the membership.

iii. Submit the financial books and records to the Trustees for audit at least once each calendar year, and shall furnish the Trustees with a statement from the Financial Institution where the Union’s funds are deposited, attesting to the amount to the credit of the Union’s account.

iv. Draw up an estimated budget at the start of each fiscal year of the Union.

e) The Members-at-Large shall participate in meetings and decisions of the Executive, and perform duties as directed by the Executive.

The Gibsons Member-at-Large shall act as the primary liaison between the Executive and the GDPL bargaining unit. For the GDPL bargaining unit, this position shall also be the Chair, main Union spokesperson and be responsible for calling regional meetings.

f) The Trustees shall:

i. Audit the books of the Secretary Treasurer and shall exercise the general supervision over the property of the Union.

ii. Examine the books and records of the Secretary-Treasurer at least once each calendar year and shall submit in writing to the Executive any recommendations and/or concerns they feel should be reviewed in order to ensure that the Union’s funds, records, and accounts are being maintained by the Secretary-Treasurer in an organized, correct, and proper manner.

iii.  Make a written report to the next regular general meeting of the membership of the Union following the audit on the condition of the funds and accounts, the number of members in good standing, the number initiated, admitted or withdrawn, together with such information they may deem necessary to the efficient and honest administration of the Union.

iv.  Send a copy of the completed audit report (on the prescribed form provided by the National Secretary-Treasurer), as well as a copy of their report to the Union membership along with a copy of any recommendations and/or concerns to the Executive, and the Executive’s response, to the National Secretary-Treasurer of the Canadian Union of Public Employees, with a copy to the assigned servicing representative.

g) The Executive shall plan all meetings and shall carry out such activities as shall be delegated to it by the Union as a whole.

i. Meetings of the Executive shall be held when deemed necessary, at least once a month.  A quorum of the Executive shall be five members.  If there is no quorum present at the time and place for a meeting of the Executive, the members in attendance shall not conduct any business but may adjourn the meeting to another time.  In a situation where an Executive decision is required before a meeting can be called, the President, or designate, may poll Executive members for a quorum vote.

ii. All outgoing Executive members shall promptly deliver all books, records and other properties of the Union to their successors.

iii. Should any Officer fail to answer the roll-call for three consecutive Executive meetings without having good and sufficient cause, the Executive shall declare that office vacant and the position will be filled at the following general meeting.